Wednesday, 3.25.09

We listened to a piece of music Mr. Yost discovered. Students were asked to consider whether or not it fit into a postmodern paradigm and why or why not. We had a lot of fun with the piece. Students were asked to make a list of pieces of music that might have been sampled for the piece we heard. There was no way anybody could come close to a complete list. We had a good discussion about authorship, ownership, originality, pastiche and appropriation.

The piece was titled Intro-Inspection by Osymyso (real name is Mark Nicholson, a DJ from the U.K.). The track list of samples used is:

Boney M – The Rivers Of Babylon
The Troggs – Wild Thing
Lionel Richie – Hello
Simply Red – Fairground
The Beatles – Hey Jude
Ultravox – Vienna
Righteous Brothers – Unchained Melody
Beach Boys – I Get Around
Soft Cell – Tainted Love
Queen – Bohemian Rhapsody
Bob Marley – No Woman No Cry
Elvis Presley – Hound Dog
Bran Van 3000 – Drinking In L.A.
Nena – 99 Luftballoons
The Cure – Love Cats
Britney Spears – Baby One More Time
Lou Reed – Walk On The Wild Side
Barry White – Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love
Spandau Ballet – True
The Shangri-Las – Leader Of The Pack
Grandmaster Flash – The Message
Spice Girls – Wannabe
All Saints – Pure Shores
Survivor – Eye Of The Tiger
Flying Pickets – Only You
INXS – I Need You Tonight
Dexys Midnight Runners – Come On Eileen
Fatboy Slim – Praise You
Men At Work – Down Under
MARRS – Pump Up The Volume
Marvin Gaye – I Heard It Through The Grapevine
Frankie Goes To Hollywood – Relax
KLF – 3am Eternal
Kylie Minogue – I Should Be So Lucky
Human League – Don’t You Want Me?
Whitney Houston – I Will Always Love You
Gloria Gaynor – I Will Survive
Isaac Hayes – Shaft
Henry Mancini – Pink Panther Theme
Deee-Lite – Groove Is In The Heart
Duran Duran – Is There Something I Should Know?
Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams
Yello – Oh Yeah
Blur – Song 2
New Order – Blue Monday
Madness – Baggy Trousers
The Kinks – You Really Got Me
Guns n’ Roses – Sweet Child Of Mine
The Surfaris – Wipeout
Offspring – Pretty Fly
Prodigy – Firestarter
Aqua – Barbie Girl
Cowcube – If It Ain’t Country It Ain’t Music
Sex Pistols – Anarchy In The UK
Charlene – I’ve Never Been To Me
Rolling Stones – (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction
Pulp – Disco 2000
Baz Luhrmann – (Everybody’s Free To Wear) Sunscreen
The Trammps – Disco Inferno
Madonna – Like A Prayer
T’Pau – China In Your Hand
Depeche Mode – I Just Can’t Get Enough
Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You
Eminem – My Name Is
Lulu – Shout
Chaka Khan – I Feel For You
ABBA – Take A Chance On Me
Huey Lewis And The News – The Power Of Love
Adamski – Killer
Michael Jackson – Bad
Eric Idle – Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life
Suzanne Vega – Tom’s Diner
Pet Shop Boys – West End Girls
Roy Orbison – Pretty Woman
Stevie Wonder – I Just Called To Say I Love You
David Bowie – Let’s Dance
Free – Alright Now
Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit
Bee Gees – Stayin’ Alive
Desmond Dekker – The Israelites
Snap – The Power
Men Without Hats – The Safety Dance
Etta James – I Just Wanna Make Love To You
Iggy Pop – Lust For Life
The Who – My Generation
Berlin – Take My Breath Away
UB40 – Red Red Wine
Nancy Sinatra – These Boots Are Made For Walking
Tom Jones – It’s Not Unusual
Chuck Berry – Johnny B. Goode
Procol Harum – A Whiter Shade Of Pale
Hollies – He Ain’t Heavy
John Lennon – Imagine
The Orb – Little Fluffy Clouds
Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse Of The Heart
10CC – I’m Not In Love
Heaven 17 – Temptation
Frank Sinatra – My Way
Fleetwood Mac – Albatross
The Doors – The End

Osymyso: Intro-Inspection

Osymyso: Intro-Inspection

Comments are closed.